Team Blanix

The Blanix team from Styria proves that it does not always have to be loud and fast at an air show to thrill the audience. The pilots compete in their demanding aerobatic program with gliders of the type LET L 13 Blanik.

Although the L 13 Blanik are not driven by engines but only by gravity, the team shows many maneuvers in mirror flight – that means the leader machine flies supine, while the second aircraft performs only half a span below it in normal attitude mirrors the flying figures.

The gliders will take to the skies above the Hinterstoisser air base with the help of a Flying Bull Extra 300 L, which will bring the two Blanix aircraft to their starting altitude in a sensational double tow.

Originally designed in the Czech Republic, built for flight training of the former Eastern armies, the Blanik L 13 became the most widely built glider in the world.

The designer Karel Dlouhy and his team produced the first Blanik in 1956. The formerly state-owned Czechoslovak Aircraft Works LET produced some 2,700 units of the cantilever shoulder-wing aircraft at its Kunovice plant before production ceased in 1978.

The two aircraft used here were manufactured in 1972 and 1965. Excellent flight characteristics and the robustness of this aluminum two-seater allow the wide spectrum from beginner training to demanding aerobatics.

The home base of these two aircraft is the military airfield Aigen/Ennstal (LOXA). In the course of the modification in spring 2011, our OE-0739 was exchanged for a “younger brother”. The aircraft currently in use are registered in the Austrian aircraft register with the registration numbers OE-0758 and OE-5733.

For AIRPOWER22, the team has come up with something very special – certainly unique and absolutely worth seeing!

LET L13 Blanik

Technische Daten :

Team Blanix

Dass es auf einer Airshow nicht immer laut und schnell zugehen muss, um das Publikum zu begeistern, beweist das Team Blanix aus der Steiermark. Die Piloten bestreiten ihr anspruchsvolles Kunstflugprogramm mit Segelflugzeugen des Typs LET L 13 Blanik.

Obwohl die L 13 Blanik nicht von Motoren, sondern nur von der Schwerkraft angetrieben werden, zeigt das Team viele Manöver im Spiegelflug – d. h. die Leader-Maschine fliegt in Rückenlage, während das zweite Flugzeug nur eine halbe Spannweite darunter in normaler Fluglage spiegelgleich die Flugfiguren ausführt.

In den Himmel über dem Fliegerhorst Hinterstoisser gelangen die Segelflugzeuge übrigens mithilfe einer Extra 300 L der Flying Bulls: Sie wird die beiden Blanix-Maschinen mittels aufsehenerregendem Doppelschlepp auf ihre Ausgangshöhe bringen.

Ursprünglich in Tschechien konstruiert, für das Flugtraining der ehemaligen Ost-Armeen gebaut, entwickelte sich der Blanik L 13 zum meistgebautesten Segelflugzeug der Welt.

Der Konstrukteur Karel Dlouhy und sein Team fertigte den ersten Blanik im Jahr 1956. Die ehemals staatlichen tschechoslowakischen Flugzeugwerke LET stellten rund 2.700 Einheiten des freitragenden Schulterdeckers in ihrem Werk in Kunovice her, ehe 1978 die Produktion eingestellt wurde.

Die beiden hier verwendeten Flugzeuge wurden 1972 und 1965 gefertigt. Hervorragende Flugeigenschaften und die Robustheit dieses Aluminium-Doppelsitzers erlauben das breite Spektrum von der Anfängerschulung bis zum anspruchsvollen Kunstflug.

Heimatflugplatz dieser beiden Flugzeuge ist der Militärflugplatz Aigen/Ennstal (LOXA). Im Zuge der Modifikation im Frühjahr 2011 wurde unser OE-0739 gegen einen „jüngeren Bruder“ ausgetauscht. Die aktuell verwendeten Flugzeuge sind mit den Kennzeichen OE-0758 und OE-5733 im österreichischen LFZ-Register eingetragen.

Für die AIRPOWER22 hat sich das Team etwas ganz besonderes einfallen lassen – sicherlich einzigartig und absolut sehenswert!

LET L13 Blanik

Technische Daten :