Pilatus Porter PC-6

Oil business and jungle adventure: the Pilatus Porter PC-6 single-engine shoulder-wing aircraft had already had some exciting experiences in Ecuador before it landed with the Flying Bulls. The Pilatus Porter PC-6 dates from 1998 and was initially operated by the Swiss Pilatus Works as a demonstration aircraft only.

In July 1999, the machine was sold to Ecuador, where it was used primarily in the oil business. The Pilatus subsequently faced further exciting challenges in the jungle as a casualty, passenger and cargo aircraft. However, this was only a short excursion, as the Porter was bought back by Pilatus-Werke at the end of 2004 and shortly thereafter purchased by the Flying Bulls. Equipped with a propeller-driven turbine, the PC-6 is a single-engine shoulder-wing aircraft with fixed landing gear and tailwheel. It impresses with excellent short takeoff and short landing characteristics, even on unpaved surfaces.

The Porter is very popular in skydiving circles. Therefore, it should also be made available to the parachuting section of the Army Sports Association (HSV) under the direction of the Flying Bulls. But a lot had to happen before delivery in April 2005. First, the machine underwent a major overhaul and received a new interior at the same time. It was then equipped with improved avionics suitable for IFR and repainted. This was followed by the Austrian approval.

Today, a 4-blade propeller replaces the old 3-blade propeller and meets the required environmental standards. For HSV, a wish that had been cherished since the beginning of the club’s 20-year history came true: finally, its own drop plane! The striking livery of the Pilatus Porter underscores the impressive aerial choreography of the parachutists. Finally, due to the ever-increasing number of missions, the parachuting team was also taken under the wing of the Flying Bulls. The four-member professional group now calls itself the Red Bull Skydive Team.

Pilatus Porter PC-6

Technische Daten :

Pilatus Porter PC-6

Ölbusiness und Dschungelabenteuer: Der einmotorige Schulterdecker Pilatus Porter PC-6 hatte in Ecuador bereits einige aufregende Erlebnisse hinter sich, bevor er bei den Flying Bulls landete. Die Pilatus Porter PC-6 stammt aus dem Baujahr 1998 und wurde von den Schweizer Pilatus-Werken anfangs als reines Vorführflugzeug betrieben.

Im Juli 1999 wurde die Maschine nach Ecuador verkauft, wo sie vor allem im Ölbusiness Verwendung fand. Weitere spannende Herausforderungen hatte die Pilatus anschließend als Verletzten-, Passagier- und Cargo-Flieger im Dschungel zu bewältigen. Allerdings war dies nur ein kurzer Ausflug, denn Ende 2004 wurde die Porter von den Pilatus-Werken zurückgekauft und kurz darauf von den Flying Bulls erstanden. Ausgerüstet mit einer Propellerturbine, ist die PC-6 ein einmotoriger Schulterdecker mit festem Fahrwerk und Spornrad. Er überzeugt mit hervorragenden Kurzstart- und Kurzlandeeigenschaften, auch auf nicht befestigten Flächen.

Die Porter ist in Fallschirmspringerkreisen sehr beliebt. Daher sollte sie auch unter der Leitung der Flying Bulls der Sektion Fallschirmsport des Heeressportvereins (HSV) zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Doch bis zur Auslieferung im April 2005 musste noch einiges geschehen. Als Erstes wurde die Maschine einer Grundüberholung unterzogen und erhielt gleichzeitig ein neues Interieur. Dann wurde sie mit einer verbesserten, IFR-tauglichen Avionik ausgestattet und neu lackiert. Anschließend erfolgte die österreichische Zulassung.

Ein 4-Blatt-Propeller ersetzt heute den alten 3-Blatt-Propeller und erfüllt die erforderlichen Umweltstandards. Für den HSV ging ein seit Beginn der 20-jährigen Vereinsgeschichte gehegter Wunsch in Erfüllung: endlich ein eigenes Absetzflugzeug! Die auffallende Lackierung der Pilatus Porter unterstreicht die eindrucksvollen Luftchoreografien der Fallschirmspringer. Schlussendlich wurde auch das Fallschirmspringerteam aufgrund der ständig steigenden Zahl von Einsätzen unter die Fittiche der Flying Bulls genommen. Die vierköpfige Profitruppe nennt sich nun Red Bull Skydive Team.

Pilatus Porter PC-6

Technische Daten :