Diamond DA20 Katana

The DA20 Katana / DV20 Katana is a two-seat light aircraft from the Austrian manufacturer Diamond Aircraft. It is manufactured in both Austria and Canada.

The aircraft is a further development of the HK36 touring motor glider and has similarly good aerodynamic characteristics. It differs from the motorglider with a wingspan of 16.3 meters mainly in its shorter wingspan of 10.9 meters and the lack of airbrakes.

Building on the successful DV20 Katana built in Wiener Neustadt since 1993, Diamond Aircraft Canada developed, certified and produced a light, two-seat composite aircraft in 1994: the DA20 Katana. The aircraft is built primarily from fiber-reinforced plastic and is known for its cost-effectiveness. Therefore, it is often used as a training aircraft for private and commercial pilots. Widely used in Germany is the DA20-A1 (DV20-A1) with a Rotax engine that can run on both MoGas and AvGas. In contrast, the DA20-C1 with a Teledyne Continental engine, which is rarely flown in Germany, requires AVGAS / 100LL. This version is most common in North America.

The history of SFG Kondor dates back to the early days of the air forces of the 2nd Republic. In this period of building up military aviation after the occupation, the aim was to create the possibility for young men who were enthusiastic about flying and who could not be immediately assigned to flying personnel to nevertheless be recruited for the air forces (excerpt from the Festschrift 10 Jahre Heeres-Flugsport-Vereinigung, 1976). For this reason – supported by the Austrian Army – Army Aviation Sports Groups were founded at the end of the 1950s at Austria’s military airfields. These were the aviation groups: ALBATROS in Graz, HABICHT in Langenlebarn BUSSARD in Linz-Hörsching, GRIMMING in Aigen/Ennstal and KONDOR in Zeltweg The SFG Kondor notified the formation of the association in December 1959 to the Security Directorate for Styria and with the non-prohibition notice of January 5, 1960 the formation of the Sportfliegergruppe Kondor – Fliegerhorst Zeltweg was officially completed.

At AIRPOWER22, the KONDOR sport aviation group will demonstrate its DA-20 Katana in static display.

Photo credit: (c) Diamond Aircraft

Diamond DA20 Katana

Technische Daten :

Diamond DA20 Katana

Die DA20 Katana / DV20 Katana ist ein zweisitziges Leichtflugzeug des österreichischen Herstellers Diamond Aircraft. Es wird sowohl in Österreich als auch in Kanada hergestellt.

Das Flugzeug ist eine Weiterentwicklung des Reisemotorseglers HK36 und besitzt ähnlich gute aerodynamische Eigenschaften. Es unterscheidet sich vor allem durch die kürzere Spannweite von 10,9 Metern und die fehlenden Bremsklappen von dem Motorsegler mit einer Spannweite von 16,3 Metern.

Aufbauend auf der seit 1993 in Wiener Neustadt gebauten, erfolgreichen DV20 Katana entwickelte, zertifizierte und produzierte Diamond Aircraft Kanada 1994 ein leichtes, zweisitziges Verbundflugzeug: die DA20 Katana. Das Flugzeug ist hauptsächlich aus faserverstärktem Kunststoff gebaut und für seine Wirtschaftlichkeit bekannt. Daher wird es häufig als Schulflugzeug für private und kommerzielle Piloten eingesetzt. In Deutschland weit verbreitet ist die DA20-A1 (DV20-A1) mit einem Rotax-Motor, der sowohl mit MoGas als auch AvGas betrieben werden kann. Die in Deutschland selten geflogene DA20-C1 mit einem Motor von Teledyne Continental benötigt dagegen zwingend AVGAS / 100LL. Diese Version ist vor allem in Nordamerika verbreitet.

Die Geschichte der SFG Kondor reicht bis in die Anfangsphase der Luftstreitkräfte der 2. Republik zurück. In dieser Zeit des Aufbaues der Militärfliegerei nach der Besatzungszeit sollte die Möglichkeit geschaffen werden, flugbegeisterten jungen Männern, die nicht unmittelbar zum fliegenden Personal eingeteilt werden konnten, trotzdem für die Luftstreitkräfte zu gewinnen (Auszug aus der Festschrift 10 Jahre Heeres-Flugsport-Vereinigung, 1976). Deshalb wurden – vom Bundesheer unterstützt – Ende der 50er Jahre auf den Militärflugplätzen Österreichs Heeres-Flugsportgruppen gegründet. Es waren dies die Flugsportgruppen: ALBATROS in Graz, HABICHT in Langenlebarn BUSSARD in Linz-Hörsching, GRIMMING in Aigen/Ennstal und KONDOR in Zeltweg Die SFG Kondor zeigte die Bildung des Vereines im Dezember 1959 der Sicherheitsdirektion für Steiermark an und mit dem Nichtuntersagungsbescheid vom 5. Jänner 1960 war die Gründung der Sportfliegergruppe Kondor – Fliegerhorst Zeltweg offiziell vollzogen.

Auf der AIRPOWER22 wird die Sportfliegergruppe KONDOR ihre DA-20 Katana im Static Display vorführen.

Fotocredit: (c) Diamond Aircraft 

Diamond DA20 Katana

Technische Daten :