Graz University of Technology – Institute for Thermal Turbomachinery and Machine Dynamics

The research focus of the Institute for Thermal Turbomachinery and Machine Dynamics at the Technical University is the investigation of thermal turbomachinery, currently mainly in the field of aircraft engines. This includes classical stationary and transient aerodynamics as well as the aeroelastic behaviour of blades or the transport of sound through turbine stages. The aim is to improve the methods for predicting and designing turbomachinery.

The Institute for Thermal Turbomachinery and Machine Dynamics has been a valuable research partner for the aviation industry on the drive side for many years. Many cooperations with companies such as General Electric, MTU Aero Engines, Avio Aero, GKN Aerospace (formerly Volvo Aero), Turbomeca, Snecma, ITP, Rolls Royce, etc. within EU projects enabled the experimental study of so-called turbine intermediate structures. These are components of civil aircraft engines located between the fast-running high-pressure turbine (HDT) and the slow-running low-pressure turbine (NDT). The flow must be safely steered from the turbine outlet of the HDT to the turbine inlet of the NDT over a larger radius and thereby decelerated. During development, a compromise must be found between overall length and thus weight as well as the quality of the flow guidance. In new configurations, the deflection task of the following guide vanes is integrated into the support ribs of the intermediate channel in order to achieve a considerable weight reduction of the entire engine by saving these guide vanes.

This is also the case in the current Clean Sky 2 Joint Undertaking Project TRAVIATA (Turbine Research for Aerodynamical Vane-frame Improvements in Advanced Two-spool Arrangements) funded by the European Union within Horizon 2020 (grant agreement No 785313):
For the aerodynamics of TVF modules (TVF – Turning Vane Frame) of future UHPE architectures (UHPE – Ultra-High Bypass Ratio Engine), interaction with the HDT and NDT rotors plays an important role in the loss generation and must therefore already be taken into account at the design stage. The TVF inlet flow is characterised by the structures of the HDT, such as afterflows, secondary, and gap flows as well as cooling air outlets from the wheel side spaces. In order to obtain meaningful test results for aerodynamic design, it is important to also create engine-relevant inflow and outflow conditions for the TVF under study. The main objective of this project is therefore to conduct a TVF aerodesign test programme together with an upstream HDT and a downstream NDT, representing the flow in a future civil geared turbofan engine. Since the performance of an HDT-NDT transition channel depends on the degree of inhomogeneity in the inflow, a variation of the rotor gap and the cooling air discharge should be carried out during the tests.
The investigations will take place in the twin-shaft transonic test turbine plant at Graz University of Technology, which is also equipped with a suitable secondary air system. In addition to conventional measurement techniques such as pressure and temperature rakes and pneumatic probes, more advanced methods such as fast pressure probes and tracer gas measurement techniques are also used to study component interaction. This guarantees that the necessary input can be provided for a subsequent ‘Ground Test Demo’.

This page is also available in: Deutsch

Technische Universität Graz – Institut für Thermische Turbomaschinen und Maschinendynamik


Der Forschungsschwerpunkt des Instituts für Thermische Turbomaschinen und Maschinendynamik der Technischen Universität ist die Untersuchung von thermischen Turbomaschinen, derzeit vor allem im Bereich der Flugtriebwerke. Dies umfasst sowohl die klassische stationäre und instationäre Aerodynamik als auch das aeroelastische Verhalten von Schaufeln oder den Transport von Schall durch Turbinenstufen. Das Ziel ist die Verbesserung der Methoden zur Vorhersage und Auslegung von Turbomaschinen.


Das Institut für Thermische Turbomaschinen und Maschinendynamik ist seit vielen Jahren ein wertvoller Forschungspartner für die Luftfahrtindustrie auf der Seite der Antriebe. Viele Kooperationen mit Firmen wie General Electric, MTU Aero Engines, Avio Aero, GKN Aerospace (vormals Volvo Aero), Turbomeca, Snecma, ITP, Rolls Royce usw. innerhalb von EU Projekten ermöglichten die experimentelle Untersuchung von sogenannten Turbinenzwischenstrukturen. Dabei handelt es sich um Komponenten von zivilen Flugtriebwerken, die zwischen der schnell laufenden Hochdruckturbine (HDT) und der langsam laufenden Niederdruckturbine (NDT) angeordnet sind. Die Strömung muss dabei sicher vom Turbinenaustritt der HDT zum Turbineneintritt der NDT auf größerem Radius gelenkt und dabei verzögert werden. Bei der Entwicklung muss ein Kompromiss aus Baulänge und somit Gewicht sowie der Qualität der Strömungsführung gefunden werden. In neuartigen Konfigurationen wird die Umlenkaufgabe der nachfolgenden Leitschaufeln in die Stützrippen des Zwischenkanals integriert, um somit durch Einsparung dieser Leitschaufeln eine erhebliche Gewichtsreduktion des gesamten Triebwerks zu erzielen.


So auch im aktuellen Clean Sky 2 Joint Undertaking Projekt TRAVIATA (Turbine Research for Aerodynamical Vane-frame Improvements in Advanced Two-spool Arrangements) gefördert durch die Europäische Union innerhalb von Horizon 2020 (grant agreement No 785313):
Für die Aerodynamik von TVF-Modulen (TVF – Turning Vane Frame) zukünftiger UHPE-Architekturen (UHPE – Ultra-High Bypass-Ratio Engine) spielt die Interaktion mit den HDT- und NDT-Rotoren eine wesentliche Rolle in der Verlustentstehung und muss daher bereits bei der Auslegung berücksichtigt werden. Die TVF-Eintrittsströmung ist gekennzeichnet durch die Strukturen der HDT, wie Nachläufe, Sekundär- und Spaltströmungen sowie Kühlluftausblasungen aus den Radseitenräumen. Um aussagekräftige Versuchsergebnisse zur aerodynamischen Auslegung zu gewinnen, ist es wichtig, auch triebwerksrelevante Zu- und Abströmungsbedingungen für das zu untersuchende TVF zu schaffen. Das Hauptziel dieses Projektes ist daher, ein Versuchsprogramm für TVF-Aerodesigns gemeinsam mit einer stromauf gelegenen HDT und einer nachfolgenden NDT durchzuführen, das die Strömung in einem zukünftigen zivilen Getriebefantriebwerk repräsentiert. Da das Leistungsverhalten eines HDT-NDT-Übergangkanals vom Grad der Inhomogenität in der Zuströmung abhängt, soll eine Variation des Rotorspaltes und der Kühlluftausblasung während der Versuche durchgeführt werden.
Die Untersuchungen werden in der zweiwelligen transsonischen Versuchsturbinenanlage an der TU Graz stattfinden, welche auch mit einem passenden Sekundärluftsystem ausgerüstet ist. Neben konventionellen Messtechniken, wie Druck-, Temperaturrechen und pneumatischen Sonden, werden auch fortschrittlichere Methoden, wie zum Beispiel schnelle Drucksonden sowie Tracergas-Messtechnik, angewendet, um auch die Komponenteninteraktion studieren zu können. Auf diese Weise wird garantiert, dass der nötige Input für eine nachfolgende “Ground Test Demo” bereitgestellt werden kann.

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: enEnglish