Robinson R22

Built since 1973, the Robinson R22 is a helicopter made by the US aircraft manufacturer Robinson Helicopter. The concept envisioned a simple, lightweight, low-cost helicopter for training, surveillance, and private use.

It is currently produced in the R22 Beta II version. The Robinson R44 is the slightly larger but similarly built sister model of the R22. Since 2010 Robinson has also offered a turbine-driven model, the Robinson R66

The R22 is not powered by shaft turbines, as is common in helicopter construction today, but by a conventional piston engine from the manufacturer Lycoming. However, since a piston engine, unlike a freewheeling turbine, cannot be started under frictional connection with the rotor system, the use of a detachable coupling became necessary to separate the drive and load for the starting process. The R22 achieves this thanks to a “stretch” tensioning device of the multiple V-belt drive between the engine and the main gearbox.

The R22 can transition from full speed to slow or hover over the shortest distance.

The R22 is in AIRPOWER22’s static display.

Robinson R22

Technische Daten :

Robinson R22

Die seit 1973 gebaute Robinson R22 ist ein Hubschrauber des US-amerikanischen Flugzeugherstellers Robinson Helicopter. Die Konzeption sah einen einfachen, leichten und kostengünstigen Hubschrauber für Schulungs- und Überwachungszwecke sowie die private Nutzung vor. 

Er wird aktuell in der Version R22 Beta II hergestellt. Die Robinson R44 ist das etwas größere, aber ähnlich aufgebaute Schwestermodell der R22. Seit 2010 bietet Robinson mit der Robinson R66 auch ein Modell mit Turbinenantrieb an.

Die R22 wird nicht wie heute im Hubschrauberbau üblich mit Wellenturbinen, sondern von einem konventionellen Kolbenmotor des Herstellers Lycoming angetrieben. Da jedoch ein Kolbenmotor im Gegensatz zu einer Freilaufturbine nicht unter Kraftschluss mit dem Rotorsystem angelassen werden kann, wurde der Einsatz einer lösbaren Kupplung notwendig, um für den Anlassvorgang Antrieb und Last zu trennen. Dies wird beim R22 durch eine „Streck“-Spannvorrichtung des Vielfach-Keilriementriebes zwischen Motor und Hauptgetriebe erreicht.

Die R22 kann auf kürzester Distanz aus voller Fahrt in den Langsam- oder Schwebeflug übergehen.

Auf der AIRPOWER22 steht der R22 im Static Display

Robinson R22

Technische Daten :