North American T-28 Trojan

The T-28 Trojan is a training aircraft and light ground combat aircraft produced by North American Aviation and manufactured from 1950 to 1957.

The T-28 Trojan is a training aircraft and light ground combat aircraft produced by North American Aviation and manufactured from 1950 to 1957.

The U.S. Air Force was looking for a new trainer aircraft in the late 1940s to replace the North American AT-6 (designated “Harvard” in Royal Air Force service). North American presented its NA-159 design after the 1948 tender, two prototypes of which were subsequently ordered and began flight testing as the XT-28 on September 26, 1949.

In 1950, the U.S. Air Force ordered 266 T-28A series aircraft (with the 588 kW Wright R-1300-1A seven-cylinder radial engine and two-bladed propeller) to serve basic training. A total of 1194 of this series were produced and were also sold and used outside the USA.

The T-28B was the US Navy’s version. It took its maiden flight on 6 April 1953 before scale production began in 1954. It got the more powerful Wright R-1820-26 engine with 1047 kW power and a three-blade propeller. 489 units of this version were built.

Later there were several variants. For example, the T-28C, which used the same engine as the T-28B and was also aircraft carrier capable thanks to a reinforced rear fuselage, airbrakes and arrestor hooks. It had its maiden flight on 19 September 1955. 299 units were built by 1957. The T-28D “Nomad” (also AT-28) was a rebuilt A version with a Wright R-1820-56S engine and six underwing stations for up to 1814 kg weapons load, intended to serve COIN missions. A total of 321 aircraft (mostly T-28A, but also T-28B or C) from North American and 72 from Fairchild were converted to this status. A version modified in France (with R-1820-76A, three-blade propeller and reinforced wings) was designated T-28S “Fennec”, a version converted to a reconnaissance aircraft as RT-28D, drone control aircraft as T-28BD, civil aircraft as T-28R Nomad. Taiwan built 50 T-CH-1 units, a variant with a turboprop engine.

The U.S. Air Force phased out the T-28 in favor of the Beechcraft T-34 Mentor beginning in 1956, with the aircraft being sold to many different air forces around the world. It remained in service with the U.S. Navy until 1984.

Several versions were successfully used as ground attack aircraft from November 1961 (initially eight T-28Bs) in South Vietnam, by France in Algeria and during the civil war in the Democratic Republic of Congo during the Congo Crisis in 1964.

Today, numerous aircraft still fly and can often be seen at airshows – at AIRPOWER22, an example can be admired in the static display.

North American T-28 Trojan

Technische Daten :

North American T-28 Trojan

Die T-28 Trojan ist ein von North American Aviation produziertes und von 1950 bis 1957 produziertes Trainingsflugzeug und leichtes Erdkampfflugzeug.

Die T-28 Trojan ist ein von North American Aviation produziertes und von 1950 bis 1957 produziertes Trainingsflugzeug und leichtes Erdkampfflugzeug.

Die US Air Force suchte Ende der 1940er-Jahre ein neues Schulflugzeug als Ersatz für die North American AT-6 (im Einsatz bei der Royal Air Force als „Harvard“ bezeichnet). North American präsentierte nach der Ausschreibung 1948 seinen Entwurf NA-159, von dem daraufhin zwei Prototypen bestellt wurden und als XT-28 am 26. September 1949 die Flugerprobung aufnahmen.

1950 bestellte die US Air Force 266 Maschinen der Serie T-28A (mit dem 588 kW starken Siebenzylinder-Sternmotor Wright R-1300-1A und Zweiblattpropeller), die dem Basistraining dienen sollte. Insgesamt wurden von dieser Serie 1194 Stück produziert, die auch außerhalb der USA verkauft und verwendet wurden.

Ab 1954 wurde die T-28B die US-Navy-Version, die am 6. April 1953 ihren Erstflug hatte, produziert. Sie bekam den stärkeren Wright R-1820-26-Motor mit 1047 kW Leistung und einen Dreiblattpropeller. Insgesamt wurden 489 Maschinen dieser Version gebaut.

Später gab es diverse Varianten. So zum Beispiel die T-28C, die den gleichen Motor wie die T-28B verwendete und dank verstärktem Hinterrumpf, Bremsklappen und Fanghaken auch flugzeugträgertauglich war. Sie hatte am 19. September 1955 ihren Erstflug und wurde bis 1957 in 299 Exemplaren gebaut. Die T-28D „Nomad“ (auch AT-28) war eine umgearbeitete A-Version mit einem Wright R-1820-56S-Motor und sechs Unterflügelstationen für bis zu 1814 kg Waffenlast, die COIN-Missionen dienen sollte. Insgesamt 321 Maschinen (meist T-28A, aber auch T-28B oder C) von North American und 72 von Fairchild wurden auf diesen Stand umgerüstet. Eine in Frankreich modifizierte Version (mit R-1820-76A, Dreiblattpropeller und verstärkten Tragflächen) wurde T-28S „Fennec“, eine zum Aufklärer umgerüstete Version als RT-28D, Drohnenleitflugzeuge als T-28BD, zivile Flugzeuge als T-28R Nomad bezeichnet. Taiwan baute mit der T-CH-1 eine Variante mit Turboprop-Triebwerk, von der fünfzig Exemplare hergestellt wurden.

Die US Air Force musterte die T-28 ab 1956 zugunsten der Beechcraft T-34 Mentor aus, wobei die Maschinen an viele verschiedene Luftwaffen weltweit verkauft wurden. Sie blieb bei der US Navy bis 1984 im Einsatz.

Etliche Versionen wurden ab November 1961 (anfangs acht T-28B) in Südvietnam, von Frankreich in Algerien und während des Bürgerkriegs in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo während der Kongo-Krise 1964 erfolgreich als Bodenangriffsflugzeuge eingesetzt.

Heute fliegen noch zahlreiche Maschinen, die häufig auf Airshows anzutreffen sind – auf der AIRPOWER22 kann ein exemplar im Static Display bestaunt werden.

North American T-28 Trojan

Technische Daten :