Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 FAGOT

The Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 (NATO code name: “fagot”) was a 1950s Soviet fighter. It was increasingly used in the Korean War and was the counterpart to the American F-86 Sabre. With approx. 18,000 units, it is the world’s most commonly built jet fighter aircraft.

In March 1946, the design bureaus of Lavochkin, Yakovlev, and Mikoyan-Gurevich, which already had experience in developing jet-powered fighters, were asked to develop a fighter with an arrow wing. In particular, it should be capable of intercepting bombers, be usable as a fighter-bomber and have good air combat capabilities. Maximum flight endurance was a secondary development goal, as the fighter had tactical orientation and was not intended to perform escort duties for long-range bombers.

The MiG-15’s fuselage, with its typical central air intake for the engine, was of half-shell construction and made entirely of duralumin. The OKB placed particular emphasis on suitability for troop service, especially maintenance under field conditions. For this reason, the aircraft had a fuselage tail that could be removed for engine maintenance and large flaps for the on-board guns, which could be lowered for maintenance.

The MiG-15 represented a very good combat aircraft for the former Soviet Union and also became a commercial success. The versions of the MiG-15 were in service in about 20 countries of the world. It became the standard fighter of the Eastern Bloc and later the Warsaw Pact. Many Third World air forces continued to use the MiG-15 in active service into the 1980s.

The MIG 15bis seen on AIRPOWER22 was manufactured in 1954 at WSK Mielec under license code Lim-2 for the Polish Air Force. The jet served the Polish Air Force until 1993 and thus has a long history in the Polish Air Force. During their service, many excellent pilots had the opportunity to sit in the cockpit of this legend, including the first Polish astronaut Miroslaw Hermaszewski. The aircraft was mothballed and finally preserved after military service ended.

In 2019 Mateusz Strama – in civilian profession Boeing 737 pilot – and 2 friends decided to acquire and restore the Mig-15 and present it to the public on air shows.

It can be admired during AIRPOWER22’s flying display and is flown by Capt. Bart Maciejczyk.

Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-15 FAGOT

Technische Daten :

Mikojan Gurewitsch MiG-15 “FAGOT”

Die Mikojan-Gurewitsch MiG-15 (NATO-Codename: „Fagot“) war ein sowjetisches Jagdflugzeug der 1950er-Jahre. Sie kam verstärkt im Koreakrieg zum Einsatz und stellte das Gegenstück zur amerikanischen F-86 Sabre dar. Mit ca. 18.000 Exemplaren stellt sie weltweit das in der höchsten Stückzahl gebaute Jagdflugzeug mit Strahlantrieb dar.

Im März 1946 erging an die Konstruktionsbüros Lawotschkin, Jakowlew und Mikojan-Gurewitsch, die bereits Erfahrungen mit der Entwicklung strahlgetriebener Jagdflugzeuge besaßen, die Forderung, ein Jagdflugzeug mit Pfeilflügel zu entwickeln. Insbesondere sollte es fähig sein, Bomber abzufangen, als Jagdbomber einsetzbar sein und gute Luftkampffähigkeiten haben. Die maximale Flugdauer war sekundäres Entwicklungsziel, da der Jäger taktische Ausrichtung hatte und keine Begleitschutzaufgaben für Langstreckenbomber übernehmen sollte.

Der Rumpf der MiG-15 mit dem typischen zentralen Lufteinlass für das Triebwerk wurde in Halbschalenbauweise gefertigt und bestand komplett aus Duraluminium. Besonderen Wert legte das OKB auf die Eignung für den Truppendienst, vor allem auf die Wartung unter Feldbedingungen. Deshalb verfügte die Maschine über ein zur Triebwerkswartung abnehmbares Rumpfheck und große Klappen für die zur Wartung absenkbaren Bordkanonen.

Die MiG-15 stellte für die ehemalige Sowjetunion ein sehr gutes Kampfflugzeug dar und wurde auch zu einem kommerziellen Erfolg. Die Versionen der MiG-15 standen in rund 20 Staaten der Welt im Dienst. Sie wurde zum Standardjäger des Ostblocks und später des Warschauer Paktes. Viele Luftstreitkräfte der Dritten Welt setzten die MiG-15 noch bis in die 1980er Jahre im aktiven Dienst ein.

Die auf der AIRPOWER22 zu sehende MIG 15bis wurde 1954 bei WSK Mielec unter dem Lizenzcode Lim-2 für die polnischen Luftstreitkräfte hergestellt. Der Jet diente der polnischen Luftwaffe bis ins Jahr 1993 und hat somit eine lange Historie in den polnischen Luftstreitkräften. Während ihres Dienstes hatten viele ausgezeichnete Piloten die Gelegenheit, im Cockpit dieser Legende zu sitzen, darunter der erste polnische Astronaut Miroslaw Hermaszewski. Nach Beendigung des Militärdienstes wurde das Flugzeug gelagert und schließlich konserviert.

Im Jahr 2019 hat sich Mateusz Strama – im Zivilberuf Boeing 737 Pilot – und 2 Freunde entschieden die Mig-15 zu erwerben und zu restaurieren und auf Flugshows dem Publikum zu präsentieren.

Sie ist auf der AIRPOWER22 im Flying Display zu bestaunen und wird von Capt. Bart Maciejczyk geflogen.

Mikojan Gurewitsch MiG-15 “FAGOT”

Technische Daten :