Diamond Aircraft training aircraft are used, among other things, for instrument flight training of Pilatus PC7 flight instructors and mission pilots, and for aptitude tests. These aircraft were selected for their particularly cost-effective operation, good-natured flight behaviour, and a cockpit that is perfectly designed for flight training with instructors and student pilots on board. The first two DA40NG training aircraft were transferred to Zeltweg in May 2018 and handed over to the Federal Armed Forces.
When selecting the training aircraft, the main focus in all areas was on straightforward flyability (forgiving flight behaviour), easy observability of the student pilot by the flight instructor, and the best possible coverage of the necessary training content.

The training aircraft are equipped with long range tanks, allowing a flight time of up to six hours. The avionics are equipped with GARMIN 1000 and autopilot for modern navigation according to IFR (Instrument Flight Rules).

Facts & Figures
Manufacturer Diamond Aircraft Industries GmbH, Austria
In service with the Austrian Federal Armed Forces since 2018
Wingspan 11.63m
Length 8.01m
Height 1.97m
Max. Weight 1,150kg
Top speed 285km/h
Cruising speed 224km/h
Service ceiling 5,000m
Crew/Passengers 1+3
Engine Austro AE300 engine
Power 167hp
Flying and static display
AIRPOWER19

This page is also available in: deDeutsch

Die Diamond Aircraft Schulungsflugzeuge werden unter anderem für die Instrumentenflugausbildung der Pilatus PC7 Fluglehrer sowie Einsatzpiloten und für die fliegerische Eignungsfeststellung eingesetzt. Für die Auswahl dieser Flugzeuge sprach der besonders kosteneffiziente Betrieb, das gutmütige Flugverhalten und ein Cockpit, das perfekt für das Flugtraining mit Lehrer und Flugschüler an Bord ausgelegt ist. Die ersten beiden DA40NG Schulflugzeuge wurden im Mai 2018 nach Zeltweg überstellt und dem Bundesheer übergeben. 
   
Das Hauptaugenmerk bei der Auswahl der Schulungsflugzeuge lag in allen Bereichen auf unkomplizierte Fliegbarkeit (fehlerverzeihendes Flugverhalten), gute Beobachtbarkeit des Flugschülers durch den Fluglehrer sowie bestmögliche Abdeckung der notwendigen Ausbildungsinhalte. 

 

Die Schulflugzeuge sind mit Long Range Tanks ausgerüstet, welche eine Flugzeit von bis zu 6 Stunden ermöglichen und die Avionikausstattung ist mit GARMIN 1000 und Autopilot für eine zeitgemäße Navigation nach IFR (Instrumentenflugregeln) ausgelegt. 

 
Fakten & Zahlen
 
Hersteller Diamond Aircraft Industries GmbH, Austria
Im Einsatz im ÖBH seit 2018
Spannweite 11,63 m
Länge 8,01 m
Höhe 1,97 m
Max. Gewicht 1.150 kg
Höchstgeschwindigkeit 285 km/h
Reisegeschwindigkeit 224 km/h
Dienstgipfelhöhe 5.000 m
Besatzung/Passagiere 1+3
Triebwerk Austro Engine AE300
Leistung 167 WPS
Display Flying + Static 
AIRPOWER19

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: enEnglish